Mercedes Promotional Race

Nurburgring, 12 May 1984

Car: 16 valve Cosworth Mercedes 190E 2.3-16.

Drivers: Ayrton Senna, Elio de Angelis, Jack Brabham, Hans Herrmann, Phill Hill, Denny Hulme, James Hunt, Alan Jones, Jacques Laffite, Niki Lauda, Klaus Ludwig, Alain Prost, Carlos Reutemann, Keke Rosberg, Jody Scheckter, Udo Schultz, Manfred Schurti, John Surtees, John Watson and Stirling Moss.

John Watson remembers: ‘Ayrton took it very, very seriously. His attitude was that he had to win it. That day was cold and wet and he did a bloody good job.’  Event was held on the 12th of May, 1984 to celebrate the opening of the new Nurburgring Grand Prix track. Victory went to the young Ayrton Senna, leading Niki Lauda after a spirited bout, with Carlos Reutemann rounding out the podium.

It was a marvellous event, 20 legendary drivers in equal cars, drifting and sliding on street tires.